Family Names in Miller County Wills, Estates, Marriages

Miller County was created in 1858 with lands from Early and Baker Counties and was named for Andrew Miller (1806-1856), state senator of Georgia and president of the Medical College of Georgia. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1873. The county seat is Colquitt, Georgia.

Videos that will help you find your ancestors. Topics include Genealogy Tips, Emigrants to America, Historical Events & People, etc. Free

  • Index to Miller County Marriages 1892 to 1906

Digital Images of Miller County Wills 1871 to 1925

Names of Testators: Adams, Susan; Bush, Elijah Sr.; Bush, William J.; Butts, Henry; Gregory, J. J.; Hand, Henry; Harrell, Martha; Lane, James Madison; Miller, James; Morton, Matha; Pools, William R.; Rathel, Alice; Sheffield; Arthur; Sheffield, West; Spooner, Stephen; Stegall, Elizabeth; Williams, J. W.; Williams, Zachariah Taylor; Womble, W. B.

Etiquette of the Napkin

This article appeared in The Philadelphia Times newspaper on March 24, 1882: ” The law of the napkin is but vaguely understood. One of our esteemed metropolitan contemporaries informs an eager inquirer that it is a bad form to fold the napkin after dinner; that the proper thing is to throw it with negligent disregard on the table beside the plate, as to fold it would be a reflection on the host and imply a familiarity that would not benefit an invited guest.”