Dawson County Georgia Wills and Estates

Dawson County was created in 1857 from Lumpkin County. Later a portion was taken from Gilmer County. The county seat is Dawsonville. (In 1850, Calhoun was called Dawsonville before it was renamed.) The County was named after Judge William C. Dawson. Researchers should also search Lumpkin County.


  • Index to Dawson County Marriages 1858 to 1883


  • Dawson County Wills 1857-1862 (abstracts).

Indexes to Dawson County Probate Records

  • Index to Dawson County Annual Returns, Books D & E, 1835-1854.
  • Index to Dawson County Wills, Guardians, Administrators, Bonds, Book B, 1857-1896.

Church Records

  • Minutes of New Hope Baptist Church 1843 to 1860


  • Index to Marriages 1858-1883