Baldwin County Marriages, Wills, Estates, Marriages, Newspapers, Land Lotteries

Baldwin County was created in 1803 by the Creek Cessions of June 1802. Three years later the land was distributed by the 1805 Georgia Land Lottery. After the second lottery (1807), five new counties were created from parts of Baldwin and Wilkinson Counties, viz: Morgan, Randolph (later Jasper), Jones, Putnam, and Telfair. Later, portions of Wilkinson and Hancock Counties were added. The county was named after Abraham Baldwin; Milledgeville was named after the first governor of Georgia, John Milledge. Unfortunately, the first courthouse burned down in 1861. Nevertheless, most of the records survived. Baldwin County is centrally located and at one time was the capital of Georgia. The records available to the genealogists are extensive on the Georgia Pioneers website.

Buchanan, Buckner, Devereaux, Flewellen, Hammond, Ingram, Moore, Redding,Robinson,Rockwell, Tapley, and Thomas

Baldwin County Images of Wills and Estates

Will Book A 1806-1829 (abstracts)
Marriages Marriage Book A 1806-1820
Marriages 1806-1851
Marriages from newspapers 1885-1886

Indexes to Probate Records

Will Book B 1829-1868
Will Book C 1868-1936
Annual Returns, Book A 1813-1820
Annual Returns, Book B 1820-1824
Annual Returns, Book C 1824-1831
Annual Returns, Book D 1831-1842
Annual Returns, Book E 1839-1856
Estate Records Book D, 1808-1827
Inferior Court Appearance Docket 1806-1837
Inferior Court Docket 1832-1873

Images of Probate Records

1819 County Order Book
Applicants of Widows of the late war
Orphans of Britton and Indians
Revolutionary War Officers and soldiers
Persons who served in the Seminole War
1820 Land Lottery (Those who were eligible to draw) (digital images)
1820 Tax Digest
1820 Baldwin County Land Lottery

Memoirs of Georgia

Baldwin County Residents (Memoirs of Georgia)

Images of Newspapers

The Southern Recorder 1826 to 1829
List of Letters published July 13, 1828