Georgia Pioneers

Home of 8 Genealogy Websites! Ancestors
Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina
South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia!

Fayette County Georgia Genealogy Records Available to Members

Fayette County Wills 1828-1897 (abstracts)

  • Fayette Bonds 1830-1850 (abstracts)
  • Fayette Mixed Records 1837-1845 (abstracts)
  • Fayette Mixed Records 1851-1856 (abstracts)

1858 Fayette County Tax Digest

Traced Genealogies of Fayette County Families

  • Cook
  • Denson
  • Eason
  • Jones
  • King
  • Malone
  • Moore
  • McEachern
  • Murphy
  • Reeves
  • Thornton


  • Images of Book A, 1823-1832
  • Index of Book B, 1832-1849

Thornton Family History

Pike Families

Fayette County Georgia Online Genealogy Records

Fayette County was created as a result of the Land Lottery Draw of 1821 and is an original county. The land itself was ceded from the Creek Indian Nation. Since, the following counties have been taken from parts of Fayette, viz: Campbell (now Fulton, DeKalb, Clayton, and Spalding. It was named after the Revolutionary War hero, Marquis de Lafayette, who fought with General George Washington. Fayetteville was named as the county seat in 1823 and the present-day courthouse in the town square was built in 1825. It remains the oldest surviving courthouse in Georgia.


Videos that will help you find your ancestors. Topics include Genealogy Tips, Emigrants to America, Historical Events & People, etc. Free

17th century shoes

Yesterday Newsletter

. . Featuring stories of the past that you will treasure!